My life on campus

EPISODE 46
Which kind of trouble is this now? I askedmyself. I slowly tilted my head to take aglance at the man but he pretended not tohave known his leg was on my hand. Helooked straight, concentrating on thewindshield. I tapped him with my left hand, heremoved his sunglasses, then looked at me.“Sir, you’re stepping on me.” I said.“Are you sure?” He foolishly questioned.I was almost getting annoyed but Iimmediately swallowed serene pills to trim itdown. “Yes of course.” I replied.“Is that money yours?” He asked.I needed no seer to tell me that he wastheowner of the money and he was awarethemoney was on the floor. “I’m sorry, butI wasonly trying to help you pick it up.” I lied;wisdom is the principal thing and with all thygetting get understanding, that I rememberedfrom the Holy book.The man quickly released his leg and wore apity look on his face. “Eyah! I didn’t know. I’mso sorry.” He apologized.I sat erect,then I handed over the money tohim with the thought of how I would pay myfare. “Where are you headed?” The man asked.“To the last busstop Sir!” I joyfully repliedalmost immediately.“Oya,your money for here.” The conductorsaid,stretching his hand to me.I dipped my hand into my pocket like I wasgoing to give him money, I kept strugglingwith my pocket until the conductor asked theman with the sunglasses for money. Take, forthe two of us, that I heard and becamerelaxed. I thanked God for scaling me throughthat huge embarrassment.The bus got to its last terminal so I alightedand started another adventure back to school.Where would my wallet be? Did I forgetit inthe school cab? I asked myself. I still didn’tbelieve my wallet was gone so I confirmedagain, touching all the pockets createdon mytrouser, but the result remained same. I hadno money with me to take me back to school,speak less about the money that wouldtransport me home. I decided to hire my legsto transport me back to school as fast aspossible. I missed Kofo that very momentbecause she could have helped me with thefare I needed to go home. I shrugged thatfeeling off and started trekking.The sun was so scorching, I had to bring out abook from my bag, raised it parallel above myface to dent its effect on me. I kicked stonesas football in order for me not to feel theimpact of the trek. An undergraduate behavinglike a primary school pupil, I thought. Istopped kicking stones and concentrated onthe journey. I returned the book I used as acap back into my bag, then I hastened mysteps. I wasn’t moving as fast as a car ormotorcycle, but I was fast enough to beat abicycle ridden by an amateur.I was virtual running out of fuel when I saw aman standing at akimbo in front of his carwith its bonnet open. The man was quiteyoung but was old enough to be my father. Ican’t help but notice how handsome he was,perfectly dressed in suit.I walked up to him. “Good morning sir.”Igreeted.He turned around and faced me. “Goodmorning.” He replied.I smiled. “Sir, what’s wrong with your car?” Iasked.“Hmm. It has an injector problem.” Heanswered. “Thanks.”“Ha! That’s serious o.” I said and added, “canI be of help?”The man smiled. “Never mind,Son.” Hesaid. “Ihave sent my daughter to get a mechanic justacross the street.”“Sir, I have little idea about cars, let meput itto a test.” I insisted with a smile.“Put your little knowledge about cars to a testwith my car?” He said and giggled. “Anyway,you’re free. Over there.”Jesus, you just have to help me now, I prayedin my heart. I walked like an experiencedmechanic to the car, dropped my bag andstarted unplugging what I really don’t knowfrom the car’s engine.“In the name of Jesus! You this engine, receivelife.” I prayed quietly but loud enough forsomeone very close to hear.“Hey! Mr? What are you doing?” The manasked.“No-o-thing sir.” I stuttered.“Nothing?”“Something sir.” I said. “Come and start it,Sir.”The man walked towards me. “Are you sureit’s going to start?” He asked.“That am not sure about, sir,but start it.”The man went into the car. He turned the keybut not a single sound was made. He cameout furious. “The car ignited to some extentbefore you touched it, what did you doto it?”He yelled.I twitched. I’m in trouble, I almost said.“Sir, Idid nothing. Let me fix this stuffs back.” Isaid.“Go on. Fixit let me see you.” He mockinglysaid and stood behind me like a Bosssupervising an apprentice.I looked behind me at intervals, hopingnoslap drops on my neck suddenly. I pluggedback all that I had unplugged. “Sir, go andstart it.”He obediently walked into his car while Isolemnly prayed to God in my heart. Yes! I didit, I said to myself as the car responded. Theman rushed out of the car with a smileon hisface, then hugged me so tight.“Sir, my hands are dirty.” I said with joyin myheart. “I don’t want to stain you.”He refused,still hugging me tightly.“Daddy?”The man let me out of his arms, I turnedaround to peek on the person who called himand I was flabbergasted with whom I saw.“Banji?”TO BE CONTINUED…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

